Sign In

Communications of the ACM


EMET Prize and Other Awards

Princeton University's Edward Felten

Edward Felten, the U.S. Trade Commission's first Chief Technologist.

Credit: Denise Applewhite / Princeton University

The A.M.N. foundation, Franklin Institute, Electronic Frontier Foundation, and other organizations recently recognized leading computer scientists and technologists.

Back to Top

EMET Prize

David Harel and Sarit Kraus were honored with EMET Prizes by the A.M.N. Foundation for the Advancement of Science, Art, and Culture in Israel for excellence in the computer sciences. Harel, a professor of computer science at the Weizmann Institute of Science, was recognized for his studies on a wide variety of topics within the discipline, among them logic and computability, software and systems engineering, graphical structures and visual languages, as well as modeling and analysis of biological systems.

Kraus, a professor of computer science at Bar-Ilan University, was recognized for her expertise in the field of artificial intelligence, along with her significant contributions to the field of autonomous agents, and studies in the field of multiagent systems.

Back to Top

FTC Chief Technologist

Edward Felten, a professor of computer science and public affairs at Princeton University, was named the U.S. Federal Trade Commission's first Chief Technologist. Felten, a vice-chair of ACM's U.S. Public Policy Council, will advise the federal agency on evolving technology-related issues of consumer protection, such as online privacy and cybersecurity, and antitrust matters, including tech industry mergers and anticompetitive behavior.

Back to Top

EFF Pioneer Awards

The Electronic Frontier Foundation presented its 2010 Pioneer awards to four individuals who are extending freedom and innovation in the digital world. The honorees are:

Steven Aftergood, who directs the Federation of American Scientists Project on Government Secrecy, which works to reduce the scope of official secrecy and to promote public access to government information;

James Boyle, William Neal Reynolds Professor of Law and cofounder of the Center for the Study of the Public Domain at Duke Law School, who was recognized for his scholarship on the "second enclosure movement"—the worldwide expansion of intellectual property rights—and its threat to the public domain of cultural and scientific materials that the Internet might otherwise make available;

Pamela Jones, a blogger, and her Web site Groklaw, were honored for the creation of a new style of participatory journalism and distributed discovery, which has enabled programmers and engineers to educate lawyers on technology relevant to legal cases of significance to the Free and Open Source community, and which, in turn, has taught technologists about the workings of the legal system; and

Hari Krishna Prasad Vemuru, a security researcher in India, who revealed security flaws in India's paperless electronic voting machines, and endured jail time and political harassment to protect an anonymous source who enabled him to conduct the first independent security review of India's e-voting system.

Back to Top

Franklin Institute Laureate

John R. Anderson, R.K. Mellon University Professor of Psychology and Computer Science at Carnegie Mellon University, was named a 2011 Laureate by the Franklin Institute and awarded the Benjamin Franklin Medal in Computer and Cognitive Science "for the development of the first large-scale computational theory of the process by which humans perceive, learn, and reason, and its application to computer tutoring systems."

Back to Top

Prince Philip Designers Prize

Bill Moggridge, director of the Smithsonian Cooper-Hewitt National Design Museum, was awarded the 2010 Prince Philip Designers Prize, an annual award by the Duke of Edinburgh that recognizes a lifetime contribution to design, for his contributions to the GRiD Compass laptop. Released in 1982, the GRiD Compass is widely credited as being the forerunner of today's modern laptop.

Back to Top


Jack Rosenberger is senior editor, news, of Communications.

Back to Top



Back to Top


UF1Figure. Edward Felten, the U.S. Trade Commission's first Chief Technologist.

Back to top

©2011 ACM  0001-0782/11/0100  $10.00

Permission to make digital or hard copies of all or part of this work for personal or classroom use is granted without fee provided that copies are not made or distributed for profit or commercial advantage and that copies bear this notice and the full citation on the first page. To copy otherwise, to republish, to post on servers or to redistribute to lists, requires prior specific permission and/or a fee.

The Digital Library is published by the Association for Computing Machinery. Copyright © 2011 ACM, Inc.


No entries found