Sign In

Communications of the ACM

ACM News

ACM Elects Yannis Ioannidis as President

View as: Print Mobile App Share:

ACM's newly elected president, Yannis Ioannidis, is a professor of Informatics and Telecommunications at the University of Athens, Greece, as well as an Affiliate Faculty member at the Athena Research and Innovation Center, whose work focuses on Informati


ACM has elected Yannis Ioannidis as President for a two-year term beginning July 1.

Ioannidis is a Professor of Informatics & Telecom at the University of Athens, Greece and a Fellow of ACM and IEEE. An ACM member since 1983, he has served as ACM Secretary/Treasurer (2018–2020), SIGMOD Chair (2009–2013) and Vice-Chair (2005–2009), and as a member of the ACM Europe Council, the SIG Governing Board Executive Committee, and the ACM Publications Board. Currently he serves on the ACM Digital Library Board, is a CACM associate editor, the faculty advisor of the ACM Student Chapter of his university, and will chair the ACM Europe Council Working Group on summer schools, having organized the Council's first three summer schools on the topic of Data Science. In 2017 he received the ACM SIGMOD Contributions Award.

Also elected to two-year terms were Vice President Elisa Bertino, Professor of Computer Science at Purdue University, ACM Fellow, former Secretary/Treasurer, and 2019–2020 ACM Athena Lecturer; and Secretary/Treasurer John West, Director of Strategic Initiatives at the Texas Advanced Computing Center and a founding officer and current Chair of SIGHPC.

From ACM
View Full Article



No entries found

Sign In for Full Access
» Forgot Password? » Create an ACM Web Account