Sign In

Communications of the ACM

ACM News

Yoshua Bengio, Fellow AI Pioneers, Honored with Spain's Princess of Asturias Award

View as: Print Mobile App Share:

Spain's Fundación Princesa de Asturias honored four computer scientists for their contributions to the advancement of artificial intelligence: clockwise from top left, Yoshua Bengio, Yann LeCun, Geoffrey Hinton, and Demis Hassabis.

Credit: Asturias

A prestigious Spanish foundation (Fundación Princesa de Asturias) recognized Yoshua Bengio and three of his colleagues and scientists Wednesday for their contributions to the advancement of artificial intelligence (AI) as the 2022 laureates of the Princess of Asturias Award for Technical and Scientific Research. 

Yoshua Bengio, Geoffrey Hinton (Vector Institute/UofT), and Yann LeCun (Meta/NYU) were honored for their conceptual and engineering breakthroughs in deep learning. In 2018, the three researchers were awarded the A.M. Turing Award, known as the "Nobel Prize of Computing," for their work.

Demis Hassabis, CEO and co-founder of DeepMind, was named the fourth award recipient for creating a neural network model that combines the capabilities of an artificial neural network with the algorithmic power of a programmable computer.

From Mila
View Full Article



No entries found