Sign In

Communications of the ACM

ACM News

President Biden Honors Leading American Scientists, Technologists, and Innovators

View as: Print Mobile App Share:

President Joe Biden awards the National Medal of Technology & Innovation to University of Florida computer science professor Juan Gilbert for starting a universal voting system that makes voting more reliable and accessible.

Credit: Jacquelyn Martin/Associated Press

Yesterday, President Biden awarded the National Medal of Science and the National Medal of Technology and Innovation to a number of Americans who have made exemplary achievements in science, technology, and innovation to strengthen our nation's well-being.
The National Medal of Science is the nation's highest scientific honor. Established by Congress in 1959 and administered by the U.S. National Science Foundation, it is bestowed by the President of the United States on individuals deserving of special recognition for their outstanding contributions in biology, computer sciences, education sciences, engineering, geosciences, mathematical and physical sciences, and social, behavioral, and economic sciences, in service to the Nation.
The National Medal of Technology and Innovation is the nation's highest award for technological achievement. It recognizes American innovators whose vision, intellect, creativity, and determination have strengthened America's economy and improved our quality of life. Established by Congress and administered by the United States Patent and Trademark Office, the first Medal of Technology was presented in 1985.

From The White House
View Full Article



No entries found