Sign In

Communications of the ACM

ACM TechNews

Siggraph Announces Winners of New Award Honoring Achievement in Digital Art

View as: Print Mobile App Share:
detail of Roman Verostko's The Magic Hand of Chance

Detail of Roman Verostko's The Magic Hand of Chance (1982)

Credit: Roman Verostko

Minneapolis College of Art & Design professor Roman Verostko and University of California, Davis professor Lynn Hershman Leeson are the winners of the first ACM SIGGRAPH Distinguished Artist Awards for Lifetime Achievement in Digital Art. ACM's Special Interest Group on Graphics and Interactive Techniques created the award to honor digital artists who have made significant contributions to the field of digital art.

Verostko, honored for helping to create and promote digital art, created the first software-driven "brushed" paintings with oriental brushes mounted on his pen blotter. Hershman Leeson, honored for her innovations involving a broad range of applications, has helped create a better understanding of how new technology can be used to bring artistic sensibilities to new formats.

"The dual award serves to emphasize that artists with significantly different approaches in their use of technology have pushed the frontiers of the field of computer graphics, interactive techniques, and new media production," says Cynthia Beth Rubin, chair of the ACM SIGGRAPH Arts Awards Committee. ACM SIGGRAPH plans to honor Verostko and Hershman Leeson at the 2009 SIGGRAPH conference on Aug. 3 in New Orleans.

From ACM
View Full Article


Abstracts Copyright © 2009 Information Inc., Bethesda, Maryland, USA


No entries found